Technique et Sentiment

Superamas phase n°3

Maxime Bondu, Les frères Chapuisat, Markus Kummer, Benoît-Marie Moriceau, Arno Pearl, Bénédicte le Pimpec, Sebastien Verdon, Mara Züst, l'équipe du CAN

Opening November 16 2012 at 18h30
Exhibition from November 17 2012 to February 21 2013

Curators: Arthur de Pury, Marie Villemin, Martin Widmer, Marie Léa Zwahlen

As of nov 16: Bibliothèque Andreas Züst + Ein Buch bei Nacht – objects for the Andreas Züst library / A project byAriane Roth, Mara Züst and Samuel Bänziger, www.andreaszuest.net, www.ebbn.ch + Massimo Furlan & Claire de Ribaupierre, Alexandra Leykauf, Beat Lippert

Thereafter: Development of the exhibition at the CAN and epic travels to the caves of Dampierre sur Loire (F), in collaboration with Monstare_DPLG www.monstrare.org: Maxime Bondu, les frères Chapuisat, Markus Kummer, Bénédicte Le Pimpec, Beat Lippert, Benoît-Marie Moriceau, Arnaud Pearl, Guillaume Pellay, the CAN’s team

Technique and Sentiment is a complex and ambitious project with multiple goals. This third phase in the series of evolving exhibitions entitled Supercluster will unfold in four parts, of which the last three will be created in tight collaboration with the Monstrare association:

  • A. First, the CAN will receive Andreas Züst’s fascinating library, for the first time in Suisse romande and in a new configuration. The opening for the library will be held November 16, 2012.
  • B. In a second instance (from November 24 to December 3), the invited artists and commissioners will work at the CAN, inspiring themselves from the library, preparing the projects and plans for the third instance of the exhibition. These will be shown in the second space at the CAN.
  • C. The artists and commissioners will then go for three weeks (from December 4 to 23) to the caves of Dampierre sur Loire (near Saumur in France) to create the envisioned exhibition. A documentation, in the shape of photographs and videos, will be sent on a regular basis to the CAN to be shown next to the initial plans. The exhibition created in the caves will be open to the public December 21. It will be the first cultural manifestation on this site destined to become a space for residencies and contemporary art exhibitions.
  • D. Finally the group will come back to the CAN for a “mirror” show of the cave version of the exhibition. This exhibition will be inspired by the experience created in the caves offering a reflexion on the influence of the exhibition space using the large gap between the caves and the white cube. The opening for this exhibition will take place January 25, 2013.

Technique and sentiment is an extremely dense project, which touches many of contemporary art’s themes such as questions on the relation between artists and institutions. It will nevertheless be about leading a more experimental than theoretical project, throwing the participants into powerful and contrasted contexts.

The first part of the project will begin with the presentation of Andreas Züst’s library in the CAN. This library, assembled throughout the artist and art collector Andreas Züst’s life (1947-2000), constitutes a unique and personal testimony as well as a stunningly diverse approach to our society. The multiple and associative fields of interest represented by these works range from meteorology to psychedelic experiences, passing through astronomy, physics, botany, art history, anthropology, polar expeditions, photography, painting, music, kitsch, UFO’s and Hell’s Angels among others. If, as with all libraries, it represents the sum of a cumulative knowledge, the subjective choices, often esthetic, of Andreas Züst turned it into an incarnate object that seems to oppose the idea of a monolithic and impenetrable tower of knowledge.

At first, it seems fairly coherent to show a temple of knowledge in a temple of art, two places that symbolize a certain deference towards culture. Yet, from another point of view, they are diametrically opposed: one is the result of an accumulation leading to an over-full, the other is a white cube, an empty and neutral space, issue of the slow process of purification and abstraction. Yet still the visitors of these two types of spaces have similar attitudes, they are generally silent and respectful, move around cautiously as if trying not to be seen, as if they entered a sacred space in which the slightest faux pas would be immediately sanctioned by an invisible force. This impression of sacrality constitutes without a doubt the irrational and residual leavings that more than a century of scientific positivism, as well as a ferocious will to desacralize art, could not make disappear.

The question of the sacralization/desacralization movement of art, of it’s environment and that of it’s receiver, will constitute one of the two axes of work proposed to the artists and curators that will occupy the CAN as soon as the library is installed. The second theme will be of the relationship between artists and institutions. In the institutional critique developed by Hans Haacke, in the end it is the artist who needed to become his own institution. We will make use of this affirmation and complete with its reverse image, working on the “becoming institution” of artists and the “becoming artists” of institutions. The artist-curators (and curator-artists) will have to work together for a collective exhibition, … conceived collectively. They will have to create plans for an exhibition that will be constructed elsewhere, in the caves of Dampierre sur Loire, in France. These plans and projects, created at the CAN, notably inspired by Andreas Züst’s library, will be shown in the art center before the teams departure for the caves. This means conceiving an exhibition, comfortably installed in the art center’s white cube, destined for a place that, in the collective imagination, is the origin of art and that which is sacred, the first offshoot of culture in facing a hostile environment.

The group will then take the road for Dampierre sur Loire, near Saumur in France, to occupy the troglodyte caves. This private space, very rough and with sparse constructions, will receive for the first time a cultural manifestation. Recently taken in hand by the Monstrare association, composed of young artists and french theorists, it is destined to be transformed into a place for residencies and contemporary art exhibitions. This 13’000 square meter site on three levels was fashioned by its exploitation as an extraction mine of Tuffeau (white or ochre stone used in all constructions in the Loire region). It was turned into a mushroom farm in the middle of the twentieth century, where the caves, arches and caverns were used for cultivated mushrooms (T.N. In French: Champignons de Paris, Mushrooms from Paris). It was only in the beginning of the 1990s that the site was completely abandoned. The underground level (level 0) is a vast gallery of more than 13’000 square meters that used to be used for the cultivation and storage of the mushrooms and where we find the old company’s installations (cafeteria, changing rooms, etc…). On the level of the Loire (level 1), there are five troglodytes from the fifteenth century and huge dugout chambers from when the site was still a mine. Above this (level 2), a vast field spreads out that takes up about two thirds of the sites total surface.

The projects’ participants will live for three weeks in the caves themselves, in the dead of winter, in significantly uncomfortable conditions. This communal survival experience should have a strong influence on the exhibition projects’ development, as well as on the thematic reflexions linked to it. They will also participate in the development of subsequent Monstrare projects on this site. The French artist collective hence starts a certain type of “sedentarization” that might lead them to the head of an institution, whereas the CAN’s team for several years now has critically questioned its own role as an institution. The confrontation of these two situations at the heart of a strong life experience should allow an unexpected and explosive exhibition to take place. Throughout this process, a video and photographic documentation will regularly be sent back to the CAN. It will be immediately shown, thus completing (and possibly refuting) the plans and projects that the artists and curators left there. The exhibition created in the caves will be open to the public December 21, with the will to host, among others, Dampierre sur Loire’s village residents.

Early January all the participants will return to the CAN to end this conceptual and physical, back and forth game, between the white cube and the caves, between two spaces that can be seen as both very similar and very different. They both consist of large empty spaces, a universe protected from the outside, walls ready and willing to receive representations, a place of rituals. Their symbolic distance is maybe first temporal, as if one is situated at the beginning of art history - of prehistory - and the other at the end. This obviously seems fairly silly, but no less stimulating to reflect on our relationship towards art and the social rituals that come with it. Andreas Züst library still on display at the CAN will then represent, still symbolically, the link between the two through its accumulation of knowledge since the proverbial beginning of time.

A “mirror” exhibition of the one in the caves will be erected at the CAN. It will attempt to come to terms with the different experiences created, all while being confronted with the initial plans and projects.

Andreas Züst Library

Andreas Züst (1947–2000) was a photographer, a painter, and an art collector; a social butterfly, a publisher, and a film producer; a bibliophile, a scientist, and a patron of the arts. Beginning in the early 1970s, he documented and photographed Zürich’s art and culture scene, transcending the boundaries between subcultures, high culture, and pop culture. It was with this same broad-minded spirit that he later became a collector and publisher of art books.

At the time of his death, Züst’s estate included an almost incomprehensible number of his own works, a collection of some 1,500 artworks, a private library of 12,000 books, and some ten thousand recordings (mostly vinyl records, but also cassette tapes and compact discs). Among these possessions was also a collection of artifacts from the Arctic—the great passion of his last years.

Today, Züst’s recordings and various smaller collections have been mostly scattered and disassembled. His daughter, Mara Züst, has supervised his artistic legacy since 2000. In 2004, the art collection was put on permanent loan to the Aargauer Kunsthaus and, since 2010, Züst’s library, now known as the Bibliothek Andreas Züst, is touring in different locations.

Library Andreas Züst

At Mara Züst and Ariane Roth’s instigation, the library took a public shape which can be presented in diverse places. An ingenious system of flexible boxes, developed by Rahel Flacher and Daniel Gafner, allows a variable and personalized configuration. Consisting of 12 ‘ 000 volumes (associating Andreas Züst’s diverse interests as meteorology, geology, astronomy, physics, botany, art history, anthropology, polar expeditions, photography, painting, music, kitsch, UFOS, Hells Angels, psychedelic experiences), the library stops for the first time in french-speaking Switzerland. This collection includes rare and precious works, as more common and popular publications, eclecticism which doubtless constitutes the fascination which produces this set.

The public can consult the library Andreas Züst in the CAN until January 31st 2013 before it returns to its base situated in Alpenhof, St-Anton / Oberegg (AI).

+ texte

photos: Anton Satus

Technique et Sentiment

Superamas phase n°3

Maxime Bondu, Les frères Chapuisat, Markus Kummer, Benoît-Marie Moriceau, Arno Pearl, Bénédicte le Pimpec, Sebastien Verdon, Mara Züst, l'équipe du CAN

Vernissage le 16 novembre 2012 dès 18h30
Exposition du 17 novembre 2012 au 21 février 2013

Curators: Arthur de Pury, Marie Villemin, Martin Widmer, Marie Léa Zwahlen

Dès le 16 nov : Bibliothèque Andreas Züst + Ein Buch bei Nacht – objets pour la bibliothèque / Un projet de Ariane Roth, Mara Züst et Samuel Bänziger, www.andreaszuest.net, www.ebbn.ch + Massimo Furlan & Claire de Ribaupierre, Alexandra Leykauf, Beat Lippert

Par la suite : Développement de l’exposition au CAN et épopée dans les grottes de Dampierre sur Loire (F), en collaboration avec Monstrare_DPLG : Maxime Bondu, les frères Chapuisat, Markus Kummer, Bénédicte Le Pimpec, Beat Lippert, Benoît-Marie Moriceau, Arnaud Pearl, Guillaume Pellay, équipe du CAN

Technique et Sentiment est un projet complexe et ambitieux aux buts multiples. Cette troisième phase de la suite d’expositions évolutives intitulée Superamas se déroulera en quatre parties, dont les trois dernières seront réalisées en étroite collaboration avec l’association Monstrare :

  • A. Tout d’abord, le CAN accueillera la fascinante bibliothèque d’Andreas Züst, pour la première fois en Suisse romande et dans une nouvelle configuration. Le vernissage de la bibliothèque aura lieu le 16 novembre 2012.
  • B. Dans un deuxième temps (du 24 novembre au 3 décembre), les artistes et commissaires invités travailleront au CAN, en s’inspirant de la bibliothèque, pour développer les projets et le plans de l’exposition de la troisième partie. Ceux-ci seront exposés dans la deuxième salle du CAN.
  • C. Les artistes et commissaires se rendront alors trois semaines (du 4 au 23 décembre) dans des grottes situées à Dampierre sur Loire (près de Saumur en France) pour y réaliser l’exposition projetée. Une documentation, sous forme de photographies et de vidéos, sera régulièrement envoyée au CAN pour y être exposée au côté des plans initiaux. L’exposition réalisée dans les grottes sera ouverte au public le 21 décembre. Elle constituera la première manifestation culturelle sur ce site destiné à devenir un lieu de résidence et d’expositions d’art contemporain.
  • D. Enfin, le groupe reviendra au CAN pour y monter une exposition « miroir » de la version des grottes. Cette exposition s’inspirera de l’expérience réalisée dans les grottes pour proposer une réflexion sur l’influence du lieu d’exposition en opérant un grand écart entre les grottes et le white cube. Le vernissage de cette exposition aura lieu le 25 janvier 2013.

Technique et Sentiment est un projet extrêmement dense, qui touche à de nombreux thèmes de l’art contemporain comme à des questions portant sur le rapport entre artistes et institutions. Il s’agira néanmoins de mener un travail plus expérimental que théorique en plongeant les participants dans des contextes forts et contrastés.

La première partie du projet débutera avec la présentation de la bibliothèque Andreas Züst au CAN. Cette bibliothèque, constituée tout au long de la vie de l’artiste, collectionneur et scientifique Andreas Züst (1947-2000) constitue autant un témoignage unique et personnel qu’une approche étonnement diverse de notre société. Les champs d’intérêt multiples et associatifs représentés par ces ouvrages vont de la météorologie aux expériences psychédéliques, en passant par l’astronomie, la physique, la botanique, l’histoire de l’art, l’anthropologie, les expéditions polaires, la photographie, la peinture, la musique, le kitsch, les OVNI et les Hell’s Angels entre autre. Si, à l’instar de toute bibliothèque, elle représente la somme d’un savoir cumulatif, les choix subjectifs, et souvent esthétiques, d’Andreas Züst en ont fait un objet incarné qui semble s’opposer à l’idée d’une tour du savoir monolithique et impénétrable.

à première vue, il semble assez cohérent d’exposer un temple du savoir dans un temple de l’art, deux lieux qui symbolisent une certaine déférence pour la culture. Pourtant, d’un autre point de vue, ils s’opposent diamétralement : l’un résulte d’une accumulation menant à un trop-plein, l’autre consiste en un white cube, espace vide et neutre, issus d’un lent processus d’épuration et d’abstraction. Néanmoins l’attitude des visiteurs de ces deux types de lieux est assez similaire, ils sont généralement silencieux et respectueux, ils se déplacent précautionneusement comme s’ils cherchaient à ne pas se faire remarquer, comme s’ils entraient dans un espace sacré au sein duquel le moindre faux pas seraient immédiatement sanctionné par une force invisible. Cette impression de sacralité constitue sans doute la part résiduelle et irrationnelle que plus d’un siècle de positivisme scientifique, ainsi qu’une féroce volonté de désacralisation de l’art, n’ont pu faire disparaître.

La question du mouvement de sacralisation/désacralisation de l’art, de son milieu et du lieu qui l’accueille, constituera un des deux axes de travail proposés aux artistes et curateurs qui investiront le CAN dès que la bibliothèque y sera installée. Le deuxième thème sera celui du rapport entre artistes et institutions. Dans la critique institutionnelle développée par Hans Haacke, c’est finalement l’artiste qui devait devenir sa propre institution. Nous reprendrons cette affirmation pour la compléter par son image inversée en travaillant tant sur le « devenir institution » des artistes que sur le « devenir artiste » des institutions. Les artistes-curateurs (et les curateurs-artistes) devront donc travailler ensemble à une exposition collective, … conçue collectivement. Ils devront réaliser les plans d’une exposition qui sera montée ailleurs, dans les grottes de Dampierre sur Loire en France. Ces plans et projets, réalisés au CAN, en s’inspirant notamment de la bibliothèque d’Andreas Züst, seront exposés au centre d’art avant le départ de l’équipe pour les grottes. Il s’agira donc de penser une exposition, en étant confortablement installé dans le white cube du centre d’art, destinée à un lieu, qui dans l’imaginaire collectif, est à l’origine de l’art et du sacré, premier rejeton de la culture face à une nature hostile.

Le groupe prendra alors la route pour se rendre à Dampierre sur Loire, près de Saumur en France, pour investir des grottes troglodytes. Ce lieu privé, peu aménagé et très brut, accueillera pour la première fois une manifestation culturelle. Récemment repris en main par l’association Monstrare, constituée par de jeunes artistes et théoriciens français, il est destiné à être transformé en un lieu de résidences et d’expositions d’art contemporain. Ce site de 13’000 mètres carrés au sol sur trois niveaux fût façonné par son exploitation en tant que carrière d’extraction de Tuffeau (pierre blanche ou ocre utilisée pour toutes les constructions dans la région de la Loire). Il fût converti en champignonnière au milieu du XXe siècle, où les caves, arches et grottes, servaient alors à la culture des champignons dits «de Paris». Ce n’est qu’au début des années 1990 que le site fut totalement abandonné. Le niveau souterrain (niveau 0) est une vaste galerie courant sur plus de 13’000 mètres carrés autrefois utilisée pour la culture et le stockage des champignons et où l’on retrouve les anciennes installations de l’entreprise (réfectoire, vestiaires, etc..). Au niveau de la Loire (niveau 1), se trouvent cinq troglodytes datant du 15ème siècle et de vastes cavités creusées lorsque le site servait encore de carrière. Au dessus (niveau 2), s’étend un vaste champ qui comprend les 2/3 de la surface totale du site.

Les participants au projet vivront trois semaines dans les grottes elles-mêmes, en plein hiver, dans des conditions d’inconfort importantes. L’expérience de (sur)vie communautaire devrait avoir une forte influence sur le développement du projet d’exposition, ainsi que sur les réflexions thématiques liées à celui-ci. Ces dernières participeront par ailleurs au développement des projets ultérieurs de Monstrare sur ce site. Le collectif d’artistes français débute ainsi une certaine forme de « sédentarisation » qui pourrait la mener à se retrouver à la tête d’une institution, alors que l’équipe du CAN mène depuis quelques années une réflexion critique sur son propre rôle d’institution. La confrontation de ces deux situations au sein d’une expérience de vie forte devrait permettre la mise en place d’une exposition inattendue et explosive. Durant tout ce processus, une documentation sous forme de photos et de vidéos sera régulièrement envoyée au CAN. Elle y sera immédiatement exposée, venant ainsi compléter (et peut-être infirmer) les plans et projets que les artistes et curateurs y avaient laissé. L’exposition réalisée dans le grottes sera ouverte au public le 21 décembre, avec la volonté d’y recevoir, entre autres, les habitants du village de Dampierre sur Loire.

Début janvier l’ensemble des participants retournera au CAN pour achever ce jeu d’aller-retour conceptuel et physique entre le white cube et la grotte, entre deux lieux qui peuvent être vus comme à la fois très proches et très éloignés. Tous deux consistent en de grands espaces vides, univers protégés de l’extérieur, murs propices à accueillir des représentations, lieux de rituels. Leur distance symbolique est peut-être d’abord temporelle, comme si l’un se situaient au début de l’histoire de l’art – de la préhistoire – et l’autre en était l’aboutissement. L’image fait évidemment sourire, mais n’en reste pas moins stimulante pour penser notre relation à l’art et aux rituels sociaux qui l’accompagnent. La bibliothèque Andreas Züst, toujours exposée au CAN, représentera alors, toujours symboliquement, le lien entre les deux constitué par l’accumulation du savoir réalisée depuis cette fameuse nuit des temps.

Une exposition « miroir » de celle des grottes sera alors montée au CAN. Celle-ci tentera de faire le point sur les différentes expériences réalisées, tout en se confrontant aux plans et projets initiaux.

Bibliothèque Andras Züst

Andreas Züst (1947-2000) a été une grande figure de la vie culturelle zurichoise. Personnage prolifique, il a été photographe, peintre, collectionneur d’art, éditeur et producteur de film, bibliophile, scientifique et mécène. Au début des années 1970, il a documenté et photographié la scène culturelle et artistique zurichoise, dépassant les frontières entre sous-culture, haute culture, et culture pop. C’est avec cette même ouverture d’esprit que plus tard, il est devenu collectionneur et éditeur de livres d’art.

Au moment de son décès, la succession Züst comprenait un nombre presque incalculable d’objets, une collection de près de 1’500 œuvres d’art, une bibliothèque privée de plus de 12’000 livres, et une dizaine de milliers d’enregistrements sonores (vinyles, cassettes et disques compacts). Parmi ces biens, on trouve également une collection d’objets provenant de l’Arctique, la grande passion de ses dernières années.

Sa fille, Mara Züst, a supervisé son héritage artistique depuis 2000. En 2004, la collection d’art a été déposée à la Aargauer Kunsthaus et, depuis 2010, la bibliothèque Andreas Züst a pris une forme itinérante.

La Bibliothèque Andreas Züst

Sous l’impulsion de Mara Züst et d’Ariane Roth, la bibliothèque a pris une forme publique pouvant être présentée en divers lieux. Un ingénieux système de caisses modulables, développé par Rahel Flacher et Daniel Gafner, permet une configuration variable et personnalisée. Consistant en 12’000 volumes (associant les divers intérêts d’Andreas Züst comme la météorologie, la géologie, l’astronomie, la physique, la botanique, l’histoire de l’art, l’anthropologie, les expéditions polaires, la photographie, la peinture, la musique, le kitsch, les OVNIs, les Hells Angels, les expériences psychédéliques), la bibliothèque fait halte pour la première fois en Suisse romande. Cette collection regroupe des ouvrages rares et précieux, comme des publications populaires et plus courantes, écléctisme qui constitue sans doute la fascination que produit cet ensemble.

Le public pourra consulter la bibliothèque Andreas Züst au CAN jusqu’au 31 janvier 2013 avant qu’elle ne retourne à sa base, située à l’Alpenhof, St-Anton / Oberegg (AI).

Un projet d’Ariane Roth et Mara Züst
www.andreaszuest.net

Ein Buch bei Nacht – objets pour la bibliothèque Andreas Züst
Habib Ahmed Afsar, Ivo Mendes Baräo Teixeira, Beni Bischof, Gabi Deutsch, Daniel Gafner, Mariano Gaich, Estelle Gassmann, Peter Hutter, Norbert Möslang

+ texte

photos: Anton Satus