Cocu ou Marron

Vanessa Billy, Lupo Borgonovo, Michaela Eichwald, Marc Hurtado

With concerts by Ghédalia Tazartès and Donald Suck
+ Presentation of the record label Wildrfid

Opening June 13 2014 at 18h
Exhibition from June 14 to July 13 2014

Curators: Arthur de Pury, Marie Villemin,
Martin Widmer, Marie Léa Zwahlen

The title of this exhibition is in reference to Antonin Artaud, for whom “one cannot name something without becoming immediately cuckold or fooled”, (Conference at the Vieux Colombier, January 13, 1947). In consequence the poet must try to attain the strength of a proper and uncorrupted language. The show “Cocu ou Marron” unites artists that are searching for an ineffable language, one that avoids rational thought. For these artists, visuals, materials and their transitory states, light, and assemblages are active organisms that seem to negotiate with shapelessness and the unconscious. By granting a strong presence to the work, language to an object, the artists push expression into unclassifiable and perturbing zones, sometimes on the verge of surrealism. The films, sculptures, paintings and performances of the invited artists seem to reach poetic spheres where subjectivity and objectivity, natural and artificial, can coincide.

The question of surrealism is posed throughout the exhibition, through the materials used as well as in the creation method. In effect, Borgonovo's, Eichwald’s and Billy’s sculptures often stem from the improbable convergence of objects taken from reality. These combinations impose on the spectator their obscure grammar and at the same time their forceful expressiveness. The superpositions of images in Marc Hurtado’s films respond to these collages of objects, giving birth through some miracle, to fantastic and obsessive images.

On opening night, the incantatory music of Ghédalia Tazartès and the more senseless music of Donald Suck will echo through the bowels of the art centre. The Genevan label Wildrfid, which produced Donald Suck’s album, will present their productions in the studio of the CAN.

+ texte

photos: Anton Satus

Cocu ou Marron

Vanessa Billy, Lupo Borgonovo, Michaela Eichwald, Marc Hurtado

Avec des concerts de Ghédalia Tazartès et de Donald Suck
+ Présentation des disques du label Wildrfid

Vernissage le 13 juin 2014 dès 18h
Exposition du 14 juin au 13 juillet 2014

Curateurs-trices: Arthur de Pury, Marie Villemin,
Martin Widmer, Marie Léa Zwahlen

Le titre de l’exposition fait référence à une pensée imagée d’Antonin Artaud, pour qui «on ne peut donner un nom aux choses sans être tout de suite cocu ou marron. » (Conférence au Vieux Colombier, 13 janvier 1947). En conséquence le poète doit tenter d’atteindre la fulgurance d’un langage propre et incorrompu. L’exposition « Cocu ou Marron » réunit des artistes engagés dans la recherche d’un langage ineffable, échappant à la pensée raisonnante. La picturalité, la matière et ses états transitoires, la lumière, les assemblages, sont chez eux des organismes actifs qui semblent négocier avec l’informe et l’inconscient. En octroyant à l’œuvre une présence forte, à l’objet un langage, les artistes poussent l’expressivité dans des zones inclassables et perturbantes, parfois aux bords du surréel. Les films, sculptures, peintures et performances des artistes invités paraissent atteindre des sphères poétiques où subjectivité et objectivité, naturel et artificiel, peuvent coïncider.

La question du surréalisme traverse toute l’exposition, tant dans les matériaux utilisés que dans les méthodes de création. En effet, les sculptures de Borgonovo, Eichwald et Billy sont souvent issues de rencontres improbables d’objets tirés du réel. Ces nouvelles combinaisons imposent au spectateur leurs grammaires obscures en même temps que leurs fortes expressivités. À ces collages d’objets, répondent les superpositions d’images dans les films de Marc Hurtado, qui accouchent comme par miracle de visions fantastiques et obsédantes.

Le soir du vernissage, les musiques incantatoires de Ghédalia Tazartès et celles plus insensées encore de Donald Suck résonneront dans les entrailles du centre d’art. Le label Genevois Wildrfid, qui a produit le disque de Donald Suck, viendra présenter ses productions dans le studio du CAN.

+ texte

photos: Anton Satus