Mariechen Danz

Ideographic Insulation

Opening October 3 2014 at 18h
Exhibition from October 4 to November 2 2014

Curators: Arthur de Pury, Marie Villemin,
Martin Widmer, Marie Léa Zwahlen

The world of Mariechen Danz is akin to a vast baroque theater in which the body both stands at the core and is the driving force of all connections, the primordial vehicle of thoughts and actions. Her artistic approach always starts with graphite drawings, while the sculptures, objects and installations emerge next. At emphatic moments in her process, she realizes unique and elaborated performances to extend, elaborate and activate the works. Sculptures, drawings and costumes come to life in a sort of total opera that resists any and all classification. The artist doesn’t concentrate on one form of expression above all others, and the various elements making up her work are interdependent and connected, constantly reorganized, enlarged, and transformed in new combinations.

The exhibition Ideographic Insulation features old and new pieces that are specifically focused on the theme of the body. For Danz, the body represents the very experience of knowledge and forms the first limit one has to confront, contrasting the inside and the outside, isolation and expansion, content and the form containing it. She extends this fundamental duality of the body to the constituent ambiguity of all forms of understanding. Danz is a modern prophetess who comes to us as both master and pupil, communicating mainly through problems and questions. In the artistic challenge she takes up, Danz treats limits and the potential errors that are inherent to the politics of knowledge and its transmission as if they were all material for her art. She creates interlinking images of the whole and the part, and looks to show in her work as much as possible the eternal coexistence of subjectivity and objectivity. The human body is always presented in its dual identity of observer and object under observation. In her artistic output, the body indeed becomes the image of knowledge, the organs and their functions revealing its trajectories and constructions.

The costumes she creates look like skins that have been opened up or inflated, parchment maps that serve as the support for anatomical and symbolic ornaments. The bodies and costumes, like all the creations of this eccentric system, bear the mark of language; glyphs, ideographic signs, anatomical diagrams, organs, matrices and outlines blend surrealistically, referring to different facts, myths and histories of various cultures, both old and more recent. Danz is interested in all forms of alternative, forgotten or minority knowledge, knowledge that is liable to create alternatives to accepted thinking. Her phenomenological view of knowledge opens new perspectives to the possibility of extralinguistic vocabularies, inseparable from the idea of plurality and movement. Anatomical discoveries, the Italian Renaissance and the body in mesoamerican culture are among the cultural modes of representation that inspire her. It figures a kind of thinking that closely links concepts of the body with the construction mechanisms of knowledge, a system in which form tends to express thought.

In the profusion of links between images and writing, text only really appears in motion, when it is embodied in performances, written on a blackboard, a wall or a body, manipulated and sung. The use of pop music is a crucial element in her approach. Like many of the artist’s gestures which tend to pay equal attention to all things, it puts elitist and popular culture on an equal footing. A perfect means of communication thanks to the accessibility of the format, pop music and sung texts generally exercise in her performances their mnemonic, rhythmic and poetic functions, drawing in information. The power of pop, which emanates from both the objects and the actions, seems to chemically activate an immediate feeling of integration and understanding. Although partly illusory, this almost physical state of consciousness is sometimes deliberately altered by the appearance of abstract, complex, or incomprehensible elements that tip the audience over into a visceral tension that the artist constantly seeks to emulate.

The transfiguration of the world is brought about by play and the power of the grotesque, which in Danz’s art takes on its full meaning and panache in the institutional setting. The didactic, scientific and museum installations that she builds are animated by enormous ludicrous figures, fascinating, imperious and absurd. The artist’s deep interest in the decisive beginnings of knowledge and its origins, however, doesn’t stop her from ridiculing the ethnocentric pitfalls of thought and the failed attempts at historical summaries.

The performances heighten the dynamics and coherence of her body of work, extending and elaborating on the autonomous status of the sculptures and installations. For the exhibition at CAN, the artist is presenting new monumental and singular sculptures, which seem to contain at their heart an idea of action and the key attributes of the living. Mariechen Danz’s exhibitions condense a long artistic process and integrate a large number of the pieces and questions the artist is continually developing in a total, evolving project. This endless calling into question—of objects, thoughts and words—is based on a philosophy that seeks to explode certitudes in a subtle balance of naivety and erudition. To learn and unlearn in Danz’s art are one and the same mental hygiene.

Mariechen Danz, born 1980 in Dublin, lives and works in Berlin.
Danz studied at Universität der Künste, Berlin, Gerrit Rietveld Academy, Amsterdam and received her Masters in Art and Integrated Media at the California Institute of Arts in 2008. Her work has been featured in institutions such as GAK- Gesellschaft für Aktuelle Kunst, Bremen, Kunsthaus Bregenz, New Museum, New York and Palais de Tokyo, Paris. She is the recent recipient of the Karl Schmidt-Rotluff Prize (2014) & the Villa Romana Fellowship (2013).

+ texte

photos: Anton Satus

Mariechen Danz

Ideographic Insulation

Vernissage le 3 octobre 2014 dès 18h
Exposition du 4 octobre au 2 novembre 2014

Curateurs-trices: Arthur de Pury, Marie Villemin,
Martin Widmer, Marie Léa Zwahlen

L’univers de Mariechen Danz s’apparente à un vaste théâtre baroque où le corps est le centre moteur de toute les connections, le véhicule primordial des pensées et des actions. Son approche artistique se construit d’abord avec des dessins au crayon, tandis que les sculptures et installations les suivent. Lors de moments décisifs du processus artistique, l’artiste réalise des performances uniques et sophistiquées pour étendre, élaborer et activer ses œuvres ; sculptures, dessins et costumes prennent vie dans une sorte d’opéra total et inclassable. Elle ne donne pas la primauté à une forme d’expression en particulier, et les divers éléments qui composent son œuvre sont solidaires et connectés, constamment réorganisés, augmentés, transformés dans de nouvelles combinaisons.

L’exposition Ideographic Insulation réunit d’anciennes et de nouvelles œuvres de l’artiste spécifiquement axées sur le thème du corps. Pour Danz, il représente l’expérience même du savoir et constitue la première frontière à aborder, confrontant l’intérieur et l’extérieur, l’isolation et l’expansion, le contenu et le contenant. Elle étend cette dualité fondamentale du corps à l’ambiguïté constitutive de toute forme d’entendement. Danz est une pythie moderne qui se présente simultanément comme maître et élève, communiquant principalement sous forme de problèmes et de questions. Dans le défi artistique qu’elle engage, Mariechen Danz traite comme une matière les limites et le potentiel d’erreurs inhérents aux politiques du savoir et sa transmission. Elle crée des images imbriquées du tout et de la partie, et cherche à manifester autant que possible dans ses travaux la coexistence éternelle de la subjectivité et de l’objectivité. Le corps humain est toujours montré dans sa double identité d’observateur et d’objet d’observation. Il devient dans son œuvre l’image de la connaissance, les organes et leurs fonctions en dévoilent les trajectoires et les constructions.

Les costumes qu’elle crée ressemblent à des peaux dépliées et gonflées, des cartes - parchemins qui font office de supports d’ornements anatomiques et symboliques. Les corps, les costumes, comme toutes les créations de ce système excentrique portent la marque du langage ; glyphes, signes idéographiques, schémas anatomiques, organes, matrices et diagrammes se mélangent de manière surréaliste en faisant référence à des faits, mythes et histoires de diverses cultures tant anciennes que récentes. Danz s’intéresse à toutes les formes de connaissance parallèles, oubliées, subalternes, susceptibles de créer des alternatives à la pensée admise. Sa vision phénoménologique de la connaissance ouvre de nouvelles perspectives sur la possibilité de vocabulaires extra linguistiques, inséparables de l’idée de pluralité et de mouvement. L’artiste place les découvertes anatomiques à l’époque de la Renaissance aux côtés de systèmes glyphiques mésoaméricains associés au corps humain, relevant les fausses lectures et les jeux de hiérarchie propres aux interprétations culturelles croisées. Elle recherche dans ces divers modes de représentations une pensée qui lie intimement les conceptions du corps aux mécanismes de construction du savoir, un système où la forme tend à exprimer la pensée.

Dans la profusion de liens entre les images et l’écriture, le texte n’apparaît véritablement qu’en mouvement, lorsqu’il est incorporé dans les performances, écrit au tableau, au mur, sur le corps, manipulé et chanté. Le recours à la musique pop est un élément crucial de sa démarche. Comme beaucoup de gestes de l’artiste qui tendent à porter une attention égale à toute chose, elle place au même niveau la culture élitiste et populaire. Parfaits moyens de communication grâce à l’accessibilité du format, la musique pop et le texte chanté en général exercent dans les performances leurs fonctions mnémoniques, rythmiques et poétiques, drainant de l’information. Le pouvoir de la pop, qui émane autant des objets que des actions, semble activer chimiquement un sentiment immédiat d’intégration et de compréhension. Cet état de conscience quasi physique, bien qu’en partie illusoire, est parfois délibérément altéré par l’apparition d’éléments abstraits, complexes ou incompréhensibles, qui font basculer l’audience dans une tension viscérale que l’artiste cherche à émuler constamment.

La transfiguration du monde est amenée par le jeu et par la force du grotesque qui dans l’art de Mariechen Danz prend tout son sens et son panache au sein du décor institutionnel. Les dispositifs didactiques, scientifiques, muséaux, qu’elle érige sont animés dans ses performances par d’énormes personnages ubuesques, fascinants, impériaux et absurdes. L’intérêt profond de l’artiste pour les amorces décisives du savoir et ses origines ne l’empêche pas de tourner en ridicule les écueils ethnocentristes de la pensée et les tentatives ratées de synthèses historiques.

Les performances élaborées de Danz augmentent encore la dynamique et la cohérence de son organisme artistique, questionnant et prolongeant le statut autonome des œuvres qui le compose. A l’occasion de l’exposition au CAN, l’artiste présente de nouvelles sculptures monumentales et singulières, qui semblent contenir en leur sein l’idée d’action et les attributs du vivant. Les expositions de Mariechen Danz condensent un long processus de création, et réintègrent une grande partie des œuvres et des questionnements que l’artiste ne cesse de développer, dans un projet total et évolutif. Cette perpétuelle remise en jeu - des objets, des pensées et des mots - s’appuie sur une philosophie qui cherche à exploser les certitudes, dans une balance subtile de naïveté et d’érudition. Apprendre et désapprendre sont chez Danz une seule et même hygiène d’esprit.

Mariechen Danz est née en 1980 à Dublin, elle vit et travaille actuellement à Berlin. Danz a étudié à l’Universität der Künste, Berlin ainsi qu’à la Gerrit Rietveld Academy, Amsterdam. Elle a reçu son Master en Art et Médias intégrés au California Institute of Arts en 2008. Son travail a été présenté dans des institutions telle que GAK- Gesellschaft für Aktuelle Kunst, Bremen, Kunsthaus Bregenz, New Museum, New York, Palais de Tokyo, Paris. Elle est la récente lauréate des prix Karl Schmidt-Rotluff (2014) & the Villa Romana Fellowship (2013)

+ texte

photos: Anton Satus