Room 4

sound performances

Laurent Güdel, REA, Svetlana Maraš, Radial + Sudden Infant, Pierre Beloüin, Cocoon, Paradis Noir, BlackNox, La Superette - MODULAR IMMERSION - Extrastunden + Nlenitav + Sacha Blank, Lionel Friedli + Gilles Furtwängler + Louis Schild, Félicia Atkinson, Axelle Stiefel, PURPURA, Claudia Stöckli + guests, JMO, David de la Cendre, SOUHARCE, Effraction Vacances

in a display by Lucas Uhlmann

Room 4 is a space dedicated to sound performance, experimentation and diffusion. This environment, designed by artist and designer Lucas Uhlmann, offers a setting for a profound hearing experience. In the enfilade of a bar, where the audience meets leaning on the counter, a hallway leads to a room with curved padded lines in which stools are scattered, ready to welcome listeners. The notion of time is very quickly altered and gradually adjusts to the rhythm of the sounds filling the space. Everything here points to exceptional moments. The performers stand on the same level as the audience and offer them an intimate, sometimes gentle, sometimes brutal one-on-one experience; moments of communion of which only the rumour of a place that would have existed will remain. About twenty performances, developing over eight events between 22 November and 14 December, will make up the contrasting programme of Room 4.



FRI 22 NOV    Doors 19:00

Laurent Güdel focuses his work on listening policy issues and an auditory approach to the social body and institutions. He takes up these challenges to create work that takes many forms. With the piece The Missing Computer at the Elektronmusikstudion in Stockholm, he is interested in the evolution of electroacoustic music studios founded around the world in the post-war period. These studios were places of futuristic utopias held by engineers, electricians, researchers, musicians and artists who had the responsibility to invent a new sound world with public money.

REA uses her voice as a sound material, which she transforms and alienates from her own body by passing it through analog electronic devices. Through missing pulsations, she emancipates herself from ready-made rhythmic constructions and takes us on a cinematic journey between a dark and dystopic electronica and a dreamy and hopeful poetry.

Svetlana Maraš works at the crossroads of experimental music, sound art and new media. She explores musicality in all its forms to test its elasticity and constantly renew its approach. Through dense and changing textures, granular and pointillist structures, Svetlana Maraš's music calls for a full involvement of the mind and body to appreciate its subtleties.



SAT 23 NOV    Doors 19:00

Radial + Sudden Infant is a collaboration formed for this purpose. The precise and reduced language of Radial's performances (Mio Chareteau and Alexandre Babel), located at the edge of sound and movement, meets the sweet madness of the primitive impulses of the industrial punk dada group Sudden Infant (Joke Lanz, Christian Weber, Alexandre Babel). The body is revealed here as a place whose vibratory essence is activated by the voice and the articulation of words. The squeaky stories told by Joke Lanz collide with the words from the conference Le Corps Utopique (Michel Foucault, 1966) read by Mio Chareteau.



FRI 29 NOV    Doors 19:00   

Optical Sound (www.optical-sound.com) is a hybrid and atypical, furtive and mobile structure that draws its own boundaries between experimental music and contemporary art. Since 1997, this label has been working on interdisciplinary mixing and has produced projects by musicians, artists or graphic designers, as well as a specialized journal, without distinction. Its artistic director, Pierre Beloüin, has developed a program for Room 4 that brings together artists from Optical Sound.

Cocoon is the solo project of Christophe Demarthe, co-founder and singer of the group Clair Obscur. With this project he is wondering about the presentation of music in public, and more particularly laptop music. The show We Need A Volunteer, first looks like a replica of a classical electronic music concert before it becomes - through a succession of changes - a performance, requiring the active participation of the audience.

Paradis Noir is a project of composer Jefferson Lembeye (Bernard Faucon, Emmanuel Demarcy Mota, Pierre Schoeller, Alain Guiraudie, Les Possédés). In 2015, he began a duet with the performer Olivier Le Borgne mixing electronics and poetry, inspired by Malcolm Lowry. Following the death of Olivier Le Borgne, Jefferson Lembeye finished alone the album "Cream" which appeared on Optical Sound, illustrated by Tom de Pekin. He produces a powerful and wild live performance where machines, fiction and voices collide.

BlackNox is a duo composed of Black Sifichi and Gerome Nox. Black Sifichi (Black Dog, Von Magnet...), as a master of spoken word, says his words about the evolving sound landscapes created by Gerome Nox (NOX, Eric Arnal Burtschy, Michele Murray, Claude Lévêque, Christian Rizzo) alternating between power, excess and purest minimalism, the sound material is manipulated and the powerful voice unfolds over a long telluric and intense range.



SAT 30 NOV    Doors 19:00   Before Superette

La Superette (www.superette.ch) is a Neuchâtel festival of contemporary music with an electronic focus that takes place on November 30 at La Case-à-chocs. As a prelude to the event, the Superette invites artists Extrastunden, Nlenitav and Sacha Blank to present their MODULAR IMMERSION project in the spaces of Room 4. The trio formed especially for this occasion will evolve among an armada of modular synthesizers from which they will extract an original sound experiment.



THU 05 DEC    Doors 19:00

Lionel Friedli + Gilles Furtwängler + Louis Schild have been an active trio since 2014. I create my life, I create the exact amount of my financial freedom. J’ai bien joui. is a proposal created in a spirit split between silence and unleashing. For Room 4, between Johannesburg and Neuchâtel, via internet communication technologies, the three artists will bring together their practices (voice, drums, percussion, bass and others) in an intercontinental performance that brings together energies.

Félicia Atkinson develops a multi-faceted artistic work that navigates between music, poetry and fine arts. She is interested in the elusive relationship between microcosms and macrocosms. Although many of her compositions are shaped by language, her latest album, The Flower & The Vessel, ventures into silence, absence and voicelessness in the wilderness.



SUN 08 DEC    Doors 16:00

PURPURA offers harsh noise sets with an extraordinary telluric force. Using analog electronic instruments, homemade oscillators or feedback, she immerses us in a bath of frequencies, from the lowest to the most strident, and pushes everyone's threshold of resistance to its extreme to access what she calls "opening portals of the underworld".

Axelle Stiefel uses her own amplified voice and language as a source material. Through ordinary gestures and words, stuttering or moments of latency, such as the intervals created by inhaling a cigarette, she activates the sensitivity of her audience and invites them to become aware of the uniqueness of the shared situation.



FRI 13 DEC    Doors 19:00

Claudia Stöckli creates installations in the form of a constantly evolving laboratory that she activates with sound performances. She explores, through polyphonic sounds, the state of the earth and tries to approach non-human beings. In the context of Room 4, she invites Nicolas Buzzi (synthesizer) to experiment new forms and collective ideas.



SAT 14 DEC    Doors 19:00

JMO (Julie Semoroz) sculpts sound using several sources such as field recording, live microphones as well as her voice through software and hardware elements. Her sound pieces are like inner journeys into the unconscious where one penetrates areas of shadows. Her work questions the relationship of the individual to mechanical and organic time in his bodily practices. She questions the post-industrial consumerist society and new technologies. In a research of ecology in the sense of "housing", Julie Semoroz poses the question of how to inhabit our bodies and our lives in society.

David de la Cendre can proudly claim to be the creator of small sound earthquakes. Equipped with a bass guitar and a panel of pedals with the most diverse effects, he sets his audience on long gravelly beaches and gradually carries them away in a tide made of buzzing and crackling.

SOUHARCE (Emma Souharce) lives with her electric and electronic instruments that she transforms and manipulates sometimes like toys, sometimes like tools of massive decomposition. With a disconcerting freedom of movement, between lo-fi caresses and micro-machine screams, she sculpts in the sound material to extract the most subtle harmonies and dissonances. Through her landscapes with their turbulent and rugged physicality, this ritualistic alchemist works a trance resulting from a series of intense movements with benevolent resolution, with the secret ambition of reaching complete symbiotic states.

Effraction Vacances (Julie Semoroz et Emma Souharce) proposes a mutant pop ballad on field recording background. The two accomplices take as a starting point for each of their gigs a mainstream song that they brutally decompose to extract a delightful sound magma.

+ texte

Room 4

performances sonores

Laurent Güdel, REA, Svetlana Maraš, Radial + Sudden Infant, Pierre Beloüin, Cocoon, Paradis Noir, BlackNox, La Superette - MODULAR IMMERSION - Extrastunden + Nlenitav + Sacha Blank, Lionel Friedli + Gilles Furtwängler + Louis Schild, Félicia Atkinson, Axelle Stiefel, PURPURA, Claudia Stöckli + guests, JMO, David de la Cendre, SOUHARCE, Effraction Vacances

dans un dispositif de Lucas Uhlmann


Room 4 est un espace dédié à la performance, l'expérimentation et la diffusion sonore. Cet environnement conçu par l’artiste et designer Lucas Uhlmann offre un cadre favorable à une expérience auditive profonde. Dans l’enfilade d’un bar, où le public se rencontre accoudé au comptoir, un couloir débouche sur une salle capitonnée aux lignes courbes dans laquelle des tabourets sont disséminés, prêts à accueillir les auditeurs. La notion de temps est très vite altérée et s’ajuste progressivement au rythme des sons emplissant l’espace. Tout laisse ici présager des moments d'exception. Les performeurs·euses se tiennent au même niveau que le public et leurs offrent un tête-à-tête intime, parfois doux, parfois brutal ; des instants de communion dont il ne restera que la rumeur d’un lieu qui aurait existé. Une vingtaine de performances, se développant sur huit événements entre le 22 novembre et le 14 décembre, composeront le programme contrasté de Room 4.



VEN 22 NOV    Portes 19:00

Laurent Güdel centre son travail sur les questions des politiques de l’écoute et sur une approche auditive du corps social et des institutions. Il se saisit de ces enjeux pour créer des travaux prenant des formes multiples. Avec la pièce The Missing Computer réalisée à l'Elektronmusikstudion de Stockholm, il s’intéresse à l’évolution des studios de musique électroacoustique fondés un peu partout dans le monde dans l’après-guerre. Ces studios étaient des lieux d’utopies futuristes tenus par des ingénieurs, des électriciens, des chercheurs, des musiciens et des artistes qui avaient la responsabilité d’inventer un monde sonore nouveau avec l’argent public.

REA utilise sa voix comme matière sonore, qu’elle transforme et aliène de son propre corps en la faisant transiter par des appareils électroniques analogiques. Par des pulsations manquantes, elle s'émancipe des constructions rythmiques toutes faites et emmène ses auditeurs dans un périple cinématique entre une electronica sombre et dystopique et une poésie rêveuse et pleine d’espoir.

Svetlana Maraš, travaille au carrefour de la musique expérimentale, de l'art sonore et des nouveaux médias. Elle explore la musicalité sous toutes ses formes pour en tester son élasticité et renouveler constamment son approche. À travers des textures denses et changeantes, des structures granuleuses et pointillistes, la musique de Svetlana Maraš convoque une implication entière de l’esprit et du corps pour en apprécier les subtilités.



SAM 23 NOV    Portes 19:00

Radial + Sudden Infant est une collaboration constituée pour l’occasion. Le langage précis et réduit des performances de Radial (Mio Chareteau et Alexandre Babel), se situant à la lisière du son et du mouvement, rencontre la douce folie aux pulsions primitives du groupe de punk dada industriel Sudden Infant (Joke Lanz, Christian Weber, Alexandre Babel). Le corps se révèle ici en tant que lieu dont l’essence vibratoire est activée par la voix et l’articulation des mots. Les histoires grinçantes racontées par Joke Lanz s'entrechoquent avec les mots extraits de la conférence Le Corps Utopique (Michel Foucault,1966) lus par Mio Chareteau.



VEN 29 NOV    Portes 19:00    Optical Sound

Optical Sound (www.optical-sound.com) est une structure hybride et atypique, furtive et mobile qui dessine ses propres frontières entre musique expérimentale et art contemporain. Elle œuvre depuis 1997 au mixage interdisciplinaire et produit sans distinction des projets de musiciens, artistes ou graphistes, ainsi qu’une revue spécialisée. Son directeur artistique, Pierre Beloüin a élaboré pour Room 4 une programmation réunissant des artistes du label Optical Sound.

Cocoon est le projet solo de Christophe Demarthe, co-fondateur et chanteur du groupe Clair Obscur. Avec ce projet il s'interroge sur la présentation de la musique en public, et plus particulièrement de la laptop music. Le spectacle We Need A Volunteer, ressemble d'abord à la réplique d'un concert classique de musique électronique avant qu'il ne devienne - par une succession de changements - une performance, demandant la participation active du public.

Paradis Noir est un projet du compositeur Jefferson Lembeye (Bernard Faucon, Emmanuel Demarcy Mota, Pierre Schoeller, Alain Guiraudie, Les Possédés). En 2015, il entame un duo avec le performer Olivier Le Borgne mêlant électronique et poésie, inspiré de Malcolm Lowry. Suite au décès d’Olivier Le Borgne, Jefferson Lembeye termine seul l’album « Cream » qui paraît sur Optical Sound, illustré par Tom de Pekin. Il en tire un live puissant et sauvage où machines, fiction et voix s’entrechoquent.

BlackNox est un duo composé de Black Sifichi et de Gerome Nox. Black Sifichi (Black Dog, Von Magnet…), en maître du spoken word, débite ses mots sur les paysages sonores évolutifs créées par Gerome Nox (NOX, Eric Arnal Burtschy, Michele Murray, Claude Lévêque, Christian Rizzo) alternant entre puissance, excès et minimalisme des plus épurés, la matière sonore se manipule et la voix puissante se déploie sur une longue plage tellurique et intense.



SAM 30 NOV    Portes 18:30    Before Superette

La Superette (www.superette.ch) est un festival neuchâtelois de musique actuelle à tendance électronique qui se déroule le 30 novembre à la Case-à-chocs. En guise de prologue aux festivités, la Superette invite les artistes Extrastunden, Nlenitav et Sacha Blank à présenter leur projet MODULAIRE IMMERSION dans les espaces de Room 4. Le trio formé spécialement pour cette occasion évoluera parmi une armada de synthétiseurs modulaires desquels ils extrairont une expérimentation sonore inédite.



JEU 05 DEC    Portes 19:00

Lionel Friedli + Gilles Furtwängler + Louis Schild sont actifs en trio depuis 2014. I create my life, I create the exact amount of my financial freedom. J’ai bien joui. est une proposition créée dans un esprit éclaté entre le silence et le déchaînement. Pour Room 4, entre Johannesburg et Neuchâtel, via les technologies de communication internet, les trois artistes feront se rencontrer leurs pratiques (voix, batterie, percussions, basse et autres) dans une performance intercontinentale et fédératrice d’énergies.

Félicia Atkinson développe un travail artistique aux multiples facettes naviguant entre l’improvisation, la science-fiction, la composition, le hasard, le bruit, l’abstraction et la poésie. Elle s'intéresse à la relation insaisissable entre les microcosmes et les macrocosmes. Bien qu'une grande partie de ses compositions soient façonnées par le langage, son dernier album, The Flower & The Vessel, s'aventure dans le silence, l'absence et la nature sauvage sans voix.



DIM 08 DEC    Portes 16:00

PURPURA propose des sets de harsh noise d’une force tellurique hors norme. En utilisant des instruments électroniques analogiques, des oscillateurs faits maison ou des feedback, elle plonge ses auditeurs dans un bain de fréquences, des plus basses au plus stridentes, et pousse le seuil de résistance de chacun jusqu’à son extrême pour accéder à ce qu’elle nomme “les portails ouverts du monde souterrain”.

Axelle Stiefel utilise sa propre voix amplifiée et la langue comme matière première. Par des gestes et des paroles ordinaires, des bégaiements ou des moments de latence, comme les intervalles créées par l’inhalation d’une cigarette, elle active la sensibilité de son auditoire et l’invite à prendre conscience du caractère unique de la situation partagée.



VEN 13 DEC    Portes 19:00

Claudia Stöckli crée des installations sous forme de laboratoire en constante évolution qu’elle active par des performances sonores. Elle y explore, à travers des sons polyphoniques, l’état de la terre et tente une approche des êtres non-humains. Dans le cadre de Room 4, elle invite Nicolas Buzzi (synthétiseur) à expérimenter de nouvelles formes et idées collectives.



SAM 14 DEC    Portes 19:00

JMO (Julie Semoroz) sculpte le son à l’aide de plusieurs sources telles que du field recording, des micros en direct ainsi que sa voix avec des éléments software et hardware. Ses pièces sonores sont comme des voyages intérieurs dans l’inconscient où l’on pénètre des zones d’ombres. Son travail interroge le rapport de l’individu au temps mécanique et organique dans ses pratiques corporels. Il questionne la société postindustrielle consumériste et les nouvelles technologies. Dans une recherche d’écologie au sens de “l’habitat”, Julie Semoroz pose la question de comment habiter nos corps et nos vies dans la société.

David de la Cendre peut se targuer d’être le créateur de petits séismes sonores. Muni d’une guitare basse et d’un panel de pédales à effets les plus divers, il installe son public sur de longues plages graveleuses et l’emporte progressivement dans une marée faite de bourdonnements et de craquements.

SOUHARCE (Emma Souharce) vit avec ses instruments électriques et électroniques qu’elle transforme et manipule tantôt comme des jouets, tantôt comme des outils de décomposition massive. Avec une liberté de mouvement déconcertante, entre caresses lo-fi et hurlements de micro-machines, elle sculpte dans la matière sonore pour en extraire les plus subtiles harmonies et dissonances. A travers ses paysages à la physicalité turbulente et accidentée, cette alchimiste ritualiste travaille une transe issue d’une suite de mouvements intenses à la résolution bienveillante, avec la secrète ambition d’atteindre des états symbiotiques complets.

Effraction Vacances (Julie Semoroz et Emma Souharce) propose une balade mutante pop sur fonds de field recording. Les deux complices prennent comme point de départ de chacun de leurs concerts une chanson mainstream qu’elles décomposent brutalement pour en extraire un magma sonore jouissif.

+ texte