Indice Ultraviolet

With Marie Griesmar, Daniel Keller, Renaud Loda, MÂT espace d’art, MACACO Press (Sabrina Fernández Casas et Patricio Gil Flood), Colin Raynal
+ guests : Andrea Marioni, Caroline Busta, Gino, Jony Valado, Julia Perazzini, Julien Fischer, Liza Trottet, Maëlle Dreier, Maud Oïhénart, Marie-Morgane Adatte, Massimo Beck, Nicolas Wadimoff, Sara McLaren, Sun Cousto


Performances, conferences, discussions, projections, hypotheses, cook‐outs at CAN and elsewhere



Does it increase or does it decrease? (1)

05.06 from 18h at CAN

19h00  Performance by Colin Raynal, How to Imitate the Sound of the Shore Using two Hands and a Carpet (after Cevdet Erek), at CAN
19h30  Inaugural cook‐out for CAN's terrace with Andrea Marioni


How to integrate the verb to last?

08.06 from 14h at CAN

14h30  Conversation with Marie Griesmar, Benthic zone, at CAN
15h30  Reading by Colin Raynal, La mer Noire, at CAN
16h30  Performance by MACACO Press, with Sara McLaren and Jony Valado, publishing performance #26 (Top Spots) in the city of Neuchâtel
17h30  Performance by Renaud Loda, Courant artistique, au Gor du Vauseyon


Is it enough?

22.06 from 15h at Port de Neuchâtel

15h30  Boarding of the boat 206 at port de Neuchâtel, departure at 15h40
15h50  Conference by Daniel Keller and Caroline Busta, New Models Module: Imagining Collapse (in english), on the lake
17h00  Detour by the opening of the exhibition Sell it with flowers at the Musée d’art et d’histoire de Neuchâtel
18h00  Performance by Renaud Loda with Massimo Beck, Magnet Fishing, at the port des Jeunes-Rives
18h30  Hoisting of the flag by Marie-Morgane Adatte, Maëlle Dreier, Maud Oïhénart et Liza Trottet at MÂT espace d’art, place du 12 Septembre, Neuchâtel
20h00  Concert by Sun Cousto, at MÂT espace d’art


Are we early or are we late?

06.07 from 14h at CAN

14h00  Presentation of the layout of the publication created by Julien Fischer, Indice Ultraviolet, at CAN
19h00  Pizzas by Gino, at CAN
21h00  Projection of the film È incompleto, by Julia Perazzini, at CAN

1. Tristan Garcia, La vie intense, 2016


Here is a series of four questions which give titles to the events that will take place within the project Indice Ultraviolet. These questions, arbitrarilly and spontaneously chosen, invites dialogue and proposes an open approach in the form of a symposium in the ancient sense of the term; meaning a discussion between coffee and dessert, between pleasure, relaxation and in‐depth reflections around a theme. From 5 June to 6 July, CAN will become a space for exchanges and experimentation. The exhibition spaces will be converted into an ultra sensitive cell from which we will grasp the current state of our ecosystems. It will serve as the epicentre of the project, radiating out through diverse actions taking place outside the CAN walls.

During the events it will be possible to take part in, among other things, a subtle performance carrying us off for a brief moment to the sea‐sideview; the inaugural cook‐out for the art centre’s terrace; a passionate discussion with an artist and diver; a choreographed guided tour of the city of Neuchâtel; combing over an open field in Champ‐du‐Moulin; a conference on collapsologie during a boat ride on the Neuchâtel lake or even the hoisting of a flag tinted with ecofeminism. In the exhibition spaces, arranged for this purpose, the visitors will have the possibility to consult a body of videos and movies, proposed by the invited artists. These sequences will favour the sharing of knowledge and will make up the base for the participants prospects. Indice Ultraviolet will invoke action instead of inaction and will explore the latest themes such as the environment (ecologic, cultural and social), and others like intensity, disconnection, laziness or passion‐work.

Ultra − tanning, sunscreen, summer, relaxation, sunburn, ice, fire, water bottles, passiveness, immersion, spectral obscurity, abysses, profoundness, deep adaptation, hygrometer, undulation, reflection − violet.

The reflections over the course of the project will finally be presented in the form of a an eponymous publication whose layout will be consultable during the last event planned for July 6 and whose print will be limited to the number of preordered examples. More than simple documentation, this book will be formulated as a manual that might be useful for its owner if necessary. It will serve to apply the proposals made by the artists and to prolong the reflections made in this early summer of 2019. A summer that promises to be scorching.

+ texte

Indice Ultraviolet

Avec Marie Griesmar, Daniel Keller, Renaud Loda, MÂT espace d’art, MACACO Press (Sabrina Fernández Casas et Patricio Gil Flood), Colin Raynal
+ invité·e·s : Andrea Marioni, Caroline Busta, Gino, Jony Valado, Julia Perazzini, Julien Fischer, Liza Trottet, Maëlle Dreier, Maud Oïhénart, Marie-Morgane Adatte, Massimo Beck, Nicolas Wadimoff, Sara McLaren, Sun Cousto



Est-ce que ça augmente ou est-ce que ça diminue ? (1)

05.06 dès 18h au CAN

19h00  Performance de Colin Raynal, How to Imitate the Sound of the Shore Using two Hands and a Carpet (after Cevdet Erek), au CAN
19h30  Grillade d’ouverture de la terrasse du CAN avec Andrea Marioni


Comment intégrer le verbe durer ?

08.06 dès 14h au CAN

14h30  Conversation avec Marie Griesmar, Benthic zone, au CAN
15h30  Lecture de Colin Raynal, La mer Noire, au CAN
16h30  Performance de MACACO Press, avec Sara McLaren et Jony Valado, publishing performance #26 (Top Spots) en ville de Neuchâtel
17h30  Performance de Renaud Loda, Courant artistique, au Gor du Vauseyon


Est-ce que c’en est assez ?

22.06 dès 15h au Port de Neuchâtel

15h30  Embarquement sur le bâteau 206 au port de Neuchâtel, départ à 15h40
15h50  Conférence de Daniel Keller et Caroline Busta, New Models Module: Imagining Collapse (en anglais), sur le lac
17h00  Détour par le vernissage de l’exposition Sell it with flowers au Musée d’art et d’histoire de Neuchâtel
18h00  Performance de Renaud Loda avec Massimo Beck, Magnet Fishing, au port des Jeunes-Rives
18h30  Hissage du drapeau de Marie-Morgane Adatte, Maëlle Dreier, Maud Oïhénart et Liza Trottet à MÂT espace d’art, place du 12 Septembre, Neuchâtel
20h00  Concert de Sun Cousto, à MÂT espace d’art


Est-ce qu’on est en avance ou en retard ?

06.07 dè 14h au CAN

14h00  Présentation de la maquette de la publication réalisée par Julien Fischer, Indice Ultraviolet, au CAN
19h00  Pizzas by Gino, au CAN
21h00  Projection du film de Julia Perazzini, Incompleto, au CAN

1. Tristan Garcia, La vie intense, 2016


Voici une série de quatre questions titrant les événements qui se dérouleront dans le cadre du projet Indice Ultraviolet. Ces dernières, choisies arbitrairement et spontanément, invitent au dialogue et proposent une approche ouverte prenant la forme d’un symposium au sens antique du terme ; c’est‐à‐dire à une discussion entre le café et le dessert, entre plaisir, détente et réflexions approfondies autour d’un thème. Du 5 juin au 6 juillet, le CAN deviendra un lieu d’échanges et d’expérimentations. Les espaces d’exposition se convertiront en une cellule ultrasensible de laquelle sera capté l’état actuel de nos écosystèmes. Elle servira d’épicentre au projet et rayonnera par diverses actions se déroulant également hors les murs.

Lors des rendez‐vous, il sera entre autre possible de prendre part à une performance subtile nous emportant quelques instants au bord de la mer ; à la grillade d’inauguration de la terrasse du centre d’art ; à une discussion passionnée avec une artiste et plongeuse ; à une visite guidée chorégraphiée de la ville de Neuchâtel ; à un passage au peigne fin d’un champ à Champ‐du‐Moulin ; à une conférence sur la collapsologie lors d’une virée en bateau sur le lac de Neuchâtel ou encore au hissage d’un drapeau teinté d’écoféminisme. Dans les salles d’exposition aménagées à cet effet, les visiteur·euse·s auront la possibilité de consulter un corpus de vidéos et de films, proposé par les artistes invité·e·s. Ces séquences favoriseront le partage de connaissances et constitueront un terreau de base pour les prospections engagées par les participant·e·s. Indice Ultraviolet invoquera l’action contre l’inaction et explorera des thématiques actuelles telles que l’environnement (écologique, culturel et social), et d’autres comme l’intensité, la déconnexion, l’oisiveté ou la passion-travail.

Ultra − bronzage, crème solaire, été, détente, coup de soleil, glaçons, incendie, bouteille d’eau, passivité, immersion, obscurité spectrale, abysses, profondeur, deep adaptation, hygromètre, ondoiement, reflet − violet.

Les réflexions menées au cours du projet seront finalement présentées sous la forme d’une publication éponyme dont la maquette sera consultable lors du dernier événement prévu le 6 juillet et dont le tirage sera restreint au nombre d’exemplaires précommandés. Plus qu’une simple documentation, cet ouvrage sera formulé comme un manuel pouvant s’avérer utile pour son·sa détenteur·trice en cas de nécessité. Il servira à l’application des propositions faites par les artistes et au prolongement des interrogations entamées en ce début d’été 2019. Un été qui s’annonce par ailleurs caniculaire.

+ texte